A continent is a group of countries collected together under one name.

Usually this is decided by how close the countries are to each other

and how much of a shared culture they have.


There are 7 continents of the world and they are:

Click on one of the continents above and discover who lives there, what animals there are

and much more...

Learn about the continents of the world
Kaia Patel


It is widely accepted that there are 7 continents in the world however sometimes this number can changed depending on how you group countries. See some examples below:

Eurasia - This would include Europe and Asia as they are both connected together.

The Americas - This would include North, Central and South America all three land masses and countries are connected.

Australasia - This would include only Australia and New Zealand. The name Oceania includes the Pacific Islands to the East.


1. Take a look at the map of the World.

2. Try and make a new continent of your own and explain why.

3. Is it because there are lots of countries connected together? Do they share a similar culture. Do they have the same animals?